Posted by: QQmei | November 7, 2011

From Duncan and Briony

Before announcing the 2012 new art project, we would like to share you 2 lovely essays written by Duncan and Birony from New Zealand. They visited the 2011 Cheng Long Wetlands International Environmental Art Project with their parents and wrote about their experiences for our catalog.

在公告2012新的成龍溼地國際環境藝術計畫之前,我們想要和大家分享二篇可愛的心得。這是兩位隨家人參訪2011成龍溼地國際環境藝術計畫的紐西蘭小孩,為我們的成果集撰寫的文章。

From Duncan Fraser (Age 13)

During April this year my family and I went on holiday toTaiwan. During this time I was fortunate enough to go to a small village on the west coast ofTaiwancalled Cheng Long. I had a great experience playing with the local school kids. The school is part of an environmental art project that happens at the wetlands nearby, with artists coming from all around the world. I was amazed to discover that Cheng Long was once a farming village, and it makes me sad to know that years of typhoons have turned farms into wetlands. The artists I believe are doing a great thing for this small struggling village.  I spent the afternoon working with the artist Rumen fromBulgariawho was working with kids my age (12-14). We made “boats” using only natural resources from the area. We used driftwood, reeds and bamboo. It was really fun; all the kids had a great time, and a few students (me included) got really muddy installing our boat into the wetlands. Even though we had little language in common, we still had a lot of fun, and I enjoyed it a lot. It is pretty cool knowing I was part of something like this. I wish I could come back next year and do it all again.

Duncan(13歲)

今年四月份的時候,我和我的家人到臺灣渡假,這趟旅行很高興能夠到臺灣西南部,一個名叫成龍的小村莊。能夠和當地小學的小朋友玩在一起是個難得的經驗。這所鄰近溼地的小學,與來自世界各地的藝術家,一同參與環境藝術計畫。當我知道成龍村以前是務農的村莊,由於幾年前的一次颱風侵襲,將農田淹沒成溼地時,我感到非常訝異,也很難過。我相信這些藝術家正在為這個努力奮鬥的小村莊付出。那天下午,我和保加利亞的藝術家Rumen以及與我同年齡(12-14歲)的小朋友一起工作。我們以附近可取得的自然資源,例如漂流木、蘆葦和竹子製作一艘“船”。所有的小朋友都很開心,有些同學,包括我在內,在溼地裡裝置“船”的時候,弄得滿身泥巴,真的很有趣。即使我們沒有共通的語言,還是玩得很起勁,我非常樂在其中。很高興能夠成為這個活動的一份子,希望明年還可以回到這裡,再次參與整個活動。

From Briony Fraser (Age 11)

In April this year I was on holiday inTaiwanwith my family. While we were there, my aunt and uncle arranged for us to spend an afternoon in Cheng Long with some of the local school children. It was so different from home. I helped them with an art project they now do each year with international artists using only natural materials from the wetlands. I spent time with the artist Karen, who is fromPeru, helping to make a floating garden with the 9 and 10 year old class. We used bamboo and local wood for the pots and twine to tie it together. Then we used some of the wetland plants and put them in the pots. These were arranged on a large floating wooden wheel. This was going to be floated out into the wetlands, but I didn’t get to see that happen. I had a lot of fun with all of the kids, both doing the art and afterwards. We did things like riding bikes, playing soccer and playing a game called wall ghost. This was a great experience for me, and I would never do anything like this at home inNew Zealand. It showed me I have so much compared to these children, but they still know how to have as much fun as I do here inNew Zealand.

Briony(11歲)

今年四月,我和我的家人到臺灣渡假,當我們抵達成龍溼地的時候,我的舅媽和舅舅安排我們和當地小學的小朋友一起度過一個下午的時光,這裡和我的家鄉非常不一樣。我參與他們一年一度的藝術季,與國際藝術家一起,利用溼地附近的自然材料進行創作。我和四年級(9-10歲)的小朋友一起幫忙祕魯的藝術家Karen製作「漂浮花園」,我們用竹子和當地回收的木頭綁成花籃,再把溼地的植物種進花籃裡,接著把花籃排列在大型的竹製圈圈上。這個作品將會放進水中,漂浮在溼地裡,很可惜我無法參與到它製作完成。和所有的小朋友一起製作藝術作品真的很好玩,後來我們還一起騎腳踏車、踢足球,還有玩“牆壁鬼”的遊戲。對我來說,在這裡做的每一件事都是非常難忘的經驗,這是我在家鄉紐西蘭從來沒有的體驗。這突顯了我和這些小朋友有多麼不同,但他們仍然可以像我在紐西蘭一樣擁有許多樂趣。


Responses

  1. Wow! I know Briony and Duncan will be very happy to see this published. They really did have the best time!

  2. the experience was awesome and it is great to see our stories in print. thank you Cheng Long.
    Duncan Fraser


Leave a Reply

Categories

