Posted by: QQmei | March 27, 2012

Hello from Yenting to children

Yenting lives in Taipei, a northern city in Taiwan. There’re about 6,800,000 people in Taipei area (including Taipei city, New Taipei city and Keelung city), and it’s 30% people of Taiwan. Taipei is a basin, so most of time it’s humid and muggy. Taipei is busy and crowd.
雁婷住在台北,是一個北部的城市,整個大台北都會區,包括台北市、新北市和基隆市總共有680萬人左右,光是大台北就佔了台灣百分之三十的人口。台北是個盆地,像盆子一樣的地形,所以大部份時候潮濕、很悶。台北很熱鬧,但也很擁擠。

Another, Taipei is very convenient, but too convenient that many convenient stores. Many people are too busy to cook, so just buy and eat in a convenient store instead of cooking with fresh food. I was not grown up like this, because my grandma or mother went to traditional market to buy fresh materials for cooking for family everyday. But when I started to work, sometimes when I am too busy or lazy, I also buy food from convenient stores, even I know it’s not healthy.
另外,台北很方便,但太方便了,便利商店很多,所以很多忙碌的人平時就乾脆吃便利商店的食物,而不是煮食新鮮食材。我不是這樣長大的,從小奶奶或媽媽每天早上都會到傳統市場買菜煮飯給我和妹妹吃,每天都可以吃到新鮮的食物。但長大開始工作後,有時候在外面太忙了,也會到便利商店隨便吃吃,可是我知道那樣並不健康。

One day I met a guy like a fortune-teller who said to me: “Don’t eat outside too often, those are like kitchen wastes. Just cook by yourself!” I don’t why he said that, but food as energy for everyday life, and to eat fresh and delicious food could feel especially satisfied. This is really too important! Therefore, I expect meals made from fresh materials during this stay in Yunlin very much!
有一次在路上遇到一個像算命仙一樣的人,看著我說:「不要老是買外面的東西吃,外面的東西都是廚餘,自己多煮吧。」不知道他為什麼那樣說,但食物是每天的能量,吃到好吃的東西也會特別滿足,這確實太重要了。所以,這次到雲林很期待新鮮的食材調理出來的三餐!

I graduated from Journalism Department in National Chengchi Univ., and got M.A in Art Administration and Management Department of National Taipei University of Arts. I started my sound work more than three years ago, and I would take my recorder to record sounds in our lives everywhere, and then edit sounds into a new piece. This work sounds unrelated to my studies, but thinkings I learned in my school still affect me much. Why and how? Besides, what is sound work? I’ll tell you more when we meet!
我畢業於政治大學新聞系、臺北藝術大學藝術行政與管理研究所,三年多前開始從事聲音工作,會拿著錄音機到處錄音,錄下生活中的各種聲音,然後再用這些聲音重新剪輯成一個作品。這工作聽起來和我讀的科系沒什麼關係,但在學校學的思考方式還是深深影響著我,至於為什麼?還有,聲音工作是什麼?等我們認識時再好好聊吧!


Leave a Reply

Categories

